Canterbury Cathedral

Call for Abstracts: BSPS 2020 Annual Conference University of Kent, 13-15 July 2020

Submission is now open for abstracts of papers to be presented at the British Society for the Philosophy of Science 2020 Annual Conference at the University of Kent on July 13th-15th 2020. Submissions are invited from anyone with a scholarly interest in the philosophy of science. Submissions from graduate students and people from underrepresented groups are particularly encouraged. (A limited number of graduate bursaries will be available.)

Papers may be on a wide selection of topics within the philosophy of science (see list below) and should be suitable for presentation in 20 minutes, which will allow 10 minutes discussion. Abstracts should be received no later than 3rd February 2020. Abstracts will be anonymously refereed by the programme committee, and successful contributors notified by late April. Abstracts should include a statement of the main thesis as well as an outline of the central argument of the paper. To ensure full consideration, please also include a short bibliography of 2-5 representative references. We do not anticipate being able to share referees’ comments. Please see important information below on BSPS policy regarding multiple submissions.

List of topics:

  1. General philosophy of science
  2. Philosophy of the physical sciences
  3. Philosophy of the life sciences
  4. Philosophy of the cognitive sciences
  5. Philosophy of the social sciences
  6. Formal philosophy of science
  7. Integrated history, philosophy, and social studies of science
  8. Science and values

Submission Instructions

To submit your abstract, go to:

  1. Log in (create an account if you do not already have one).
  2. Select ‘New Submission’ and enter the requested information, including the title of your paper.
  3. Enter your abstract (in plain text, of no more than 1000 words) into the Abstract box.
  4. Please prepare your abstract for anonymous refereeing. Bear in mind that referees will have to reach a judgement based only the information provided in the abstract.
  5. Please select the topic (or topics) that best describe the area of your submission.
  6. Finally, select ‘Submit’.

For more information please email: .

Programme Committee:

Valia Allori (Northern Illinois)
Sorin Bangu (Bergen)
Harjit Bhogal (Maryland)
Baptiste Le Bihan (Geneva)
Jonathan Birch (LSE)

Alexander Bird (KCL)
Karen Crowther (Oslo)
Erik Curiel (Munich)
Adrian Currie (Exeter)
Richard Dawid (Stockholm)
Zoe Drayson (UC Davis)
Peter Evans (Queensland)
Luke Fenton-Glynn (UCL)
Samuel Fletcher (Minnesota)

Mathias Frisch (Hanover)
Carl Hoefer (Barcelona)
Vera Hofmann-Kolss (Bern)
Andreas Hütteman (Cologne)
Alastair Isaac (Edinburgh)
Milena Ivanova (Cambridge)

Lina Jansson (Nottingham)
Elselijn Kingma (Southampton)

Suilin Lavelle (Edinburgh)
Dennis Lehmkuhl (Bonn)
Peter Lewis (Dartmouth)

Michela Massimi (Edinburgh)
Conor Mayo-Wilson (Washington)

Kerry McKenzie (UCSD)

Teru Miyake (NTU Singapore)
Fred Muller (Erasmus)
James Nguyen (UCL)

Robert Northcott (Birkbeck)
Patricia Palacios (Salzburg)

Wendy Parker (Durham)
Simon Saunders (Oxford)
Samuel Schindler (Aarhus)

Jacob Stegenga (Cambridge)
Tuomas Tahko (Bristol)
Karim Thébault (Bristol)
Johanna Thoma (LSE)
Emily Thomas (Durham)

Joel Velasco (Texas Tech)
Kirsten Walsh (Exeter)
Charlotte Werndl (Salzburg)
Jon Williamson (Kent)
Alastair Wilson (Birmingham)

Jo E. Wolff (Edinburgh)
David Yates (Lisbon)
Local organisers: Simon Kirchin & Graeme Forbes

Rules for Acceptance

Attendance at the conference is restricted to members of the BSPS. You may join the Society online at .

No one will be permitted to present more than once at BSPS 2020. Thus, if a symposium proposal in which you are a presenting author is accepted, you cannot submit a contributed paper for which you are the presenting author. Commentators that are part of symposia are considered to be presenting authors. A scholar may appear as co-author on more than one paper or symposium talk, but may present at BSPS 2020 only once.

All questions about submissions should be directed in the first instance to the assistant to the committee at .

The purpose of the Society is to study the logic, the methods, and the philosophy of science, as well as those of the various special sciences, including the social sciences. The Society holds an annual conference with invited speakers and contributed papers, as well as ordinary meetings running throughout the year at which invited speakers present a paper. The Society makes small grants to support conferences relevant to research and education in its areas of study, awards an annual doctoral studentship for doctoral work in philosophy of science in a UK university and The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science is published on our behalf by Oxford University Press. Visit for more information.